Ch. 22 – Tales

Tales – Finduilas POV – 2 of 4

In which the tall, dark, taciturn fellow finally admits his feelings, Finduilas plans a wedding, and poetry is in the air.

*****

Another talismanic object is introduced in this chapter and a new theme enters the mix of legends. The answer to Finduilas’s question to herself is, well, duh.

Things definitely take a romantic turn for the worse in this chapter as Thorongil continues his clueless blundering and Denethor keeps his cards tucked tightly to his vest.

There’s also the introduction of two tangential family members – the “seamstress” and Borondir’s grandmother, Andreth. Both will come back later in the story.

There’s not too much political going on at this point. The focus is on Finduilas’s growing frustration with being in love with a man who does not appear to return any of her feelings, but also on her increasing awareness that Something Big is In The Works where her choices are concerned. It’s more than the rather straightforward dynastic politics Adrahil is pondering; there are portents and dreams and fate swirling around. She knows it and it is not making her happy.

Anglachel

6 thoughts on “Ch. 22 – Tales”

  1. Dammit. This is painful but I can’t stop reading or thinking about it. I’m not usually a sucker for the “does he/she or doesn’t he/she” agonizing misunderstandings stage (so often mishandled and made merely annoying), but again, I like these two, and when you mix in Big Things In The Works, well then, it’s just so epic and tragic, and I’m sunk. 😀

  2. Don’t let my impatience get too annoying! I should sit on my hands more often… I really appreciate reading new chapters so quickly — and especially the fact that I can rest assured that the story will be finished.

  3. I’m not sure whether I’ll be able to post this weekend. I’ve got a lot to do, but I’ll try to get the last of the Finduilas chapters up. After that, it’s a long stretch of Denethor.

    Anglachel

Leave a Reply

